Reading Roundup #17: Let’s (Not?) Get Hitched!

Totally randomly, all three books I read this week feature fake engagements. And honestly, that’s okay by me, because who doesn’t love a fake engagement, whether it’s for the good of the country, to win a cooking contest, or to save your life? Okay, stakes may vary here, but they’re all fun, and I do recommend. Come feast on these romantic delights!

City of Lies (“Counterfeit Lady” #1) by Victoria Thompson: C’mon. You knew I couldn’t resist starting the other Victoria Thompson series for long. After reading so many of the “Gaslight Mysteries,” I wondered if “Counterfeit Lady” would be more of the same, but it surprised my with a very different vibe and characters. Sure, it’s also historical fiction set in New York, but it’s less of an old school murder-of-the-week-with-some-character-development-on-the-side and more fast-paced adventure. Also, one of the leads is a lady con-artist. Watching Elizabeth think her way out of each new danger is truly satisfying, and I’m excited to see what mischief she gets into next!

One Monsoon in Mumbai: Trouble and Laughter and Mushy Stuff by Anitha Perinchery: This rom-com/spy thriller/family drama was so much fun, with its quirky characters and ever-more-convoluted game of cat and mouse. Did I mention it has two romances? Plus, one of them is a noona romance! Be still, my heart. True, there were several scenes that were more on-the-nose and dramatic than they would ever play out in real life, and the pacing and some of the bigger scenes (especially the anniversary party) felt like the comedy would have worked better on film than on the page, but if you want something breezy, with just a dash of sizzle and angst, this book is a great way to spend a night – much like watching a comforting old masala Bollywood flick. Thank you to NetGalley and BooksGoSocial for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Accidentally Engaged by Farah Heron: Did I save the best for last? Yes. I. Did. Y’all!! I expected good things because I was hearing positive hype from trusted reviewers even before this came out, but honestly, it still exceeded expectations. It’s sexy, funny, heartfelt, and mouth-wateringly good – seriously, the descriptions of bread (and other yummy foodstuffs) will drive your stomach insane with wanting. It’s a winner.

–b

3 thoughts on “Reading Roundup #17: Let’s (Not?) Get Hitched!

Leave a comment